16.2 C
Thursday, May 30, 2024

Sri Lanka: Compensation Paid for Rathupaswala Victims

Compensation for 33 victims of Rathupaswala incident were distributed by the Secretary to the President P.B. Abeykoon on Friday (8th April) at the Presidential Secretariat.

Accordingly, Rs.4.68 million were given to 24 persons, who are fully disabled or partially disabled or who were admitted to hospitals for treatment in the Gampaha Divisional Secretariat and 9 persons belongs to the Mahara Divisional Secretariat.

During the event, President Maithripala Sirisena engaged in a cordial and friendly discussion with the recipient of compensations and he promised to visit the Rathupaswala area in the near future to meet the victims.

Chief Minister of the Western Province Isura Devapriya, State Minister, Sudarshini Fernandopulle, and Ajith Mannapperuma MP were also present.

– PMDnews


Latest news

Related news