12.7 C
Saturday, July 13, 2024

Sri Lanka: 698 firearms issued to 154 politicians in1980s to yet to be returned!

File photo courtesy of Daily Mirror.

Former President Chandrika Kumaratunga, who was provided with a total number of 104 12-bore shotguns when she was at the Sri Lanka Mahajana Party from 1980 to 1990 was yet to return those weapons, it was revealed in Parliament last week.

Submitting a document in Parliament, State Minister of Defence Premitha Bandara Tennakoon revealed that about 698 firearms had been issued to 154 politicians from 1980 to 1990, but none have been returned as yet.

According to the document, former President Kumaratunga was given the highest number of weapons during that decade and all the weapons were obtained by Ms Kumaratunga in 1988.

It also stated that a total number of 41 semi-automatic 9mm pistols, one revolver and 656 12-bore shotguns had not been returned up to date. A considerable number of politicians who have failed to return firearms issued to them are now deceased.

Among the leading politicians, who failed to return 12-bore guns, were H.S.A. Karunaratne (Administration Secretary –Lanka Sama Samaja Party -16), Alick Aluwihare (05), Peter Keuneman (01), P Dayaratne (05), Tudor Jayaratne (5), Tyronne Fernando (5), Nanda Mathew (05), Gamin Athukorala (5) etc.

Speaking to Daily Mirror, State Minister Tennakoon said that the government has to take a policy decision in this regard. However, he said that the IGP and the State Intelligence Service (SIS) were given instructions to take necessary action until the government take a decision on this.
Daily Mirror


Latest news

Related news