5.8 C
Friday, February 23, 2024

Keep the Presidential Promise – release land by 31st December 2018

27th December, 2018

To: President Maithripala Sirisena

Cc. Prime Minister Ranil Wickramasinghe & Leaders of Political Parties

Keep the Presidential Promise – release land by 31st December 2018

On the 4th of October 2018, The Presidential Media Division reported that “President Maithripala Sirisena instructed the authorities to complete the process of releasing the lands in the North and East Provinces to their original owners, before December 31st, after resolving all the issues”1, at a meeting of the Presidential Task Force to monitor development projects conducted in the Northern and Eastern Provinces.

We, whose lands have been taken away from us forcibly and are still suffering immensely nearly ten years after the end of the war, demand that you keep this promise and ensure that authorities abide by instructions you gave them several months ago.

We also demand that the Prime Minister and leaders of all political parties and alliances support this fully and demand that the President implement this decision.

We appreciate that the government has released some occupied lands to different communities in the last several years, but are deeply disappointed that there has been inadequate resettlement assistance and other restrictions and obstructions they have faced which have hampered their resettlement.

To assist you, we attach a short briefing and summary of 15 cases (not exhaustive) that was submitted to the government on 29th August 2018, by the People’s Alliance for Right to Land (PARL) after a discussion on land held at Sri Lanka Foundation Institute on 21st August 2018, where representatives of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs also participated. We also attach the submission made by PARL in relation to land in July 2018, with regard to Reparations Act, before the Act was enacted.

Thank you.

1 http://www.pmdnews.lk/%E0%B6%8B%E0%B6%AD%E0%B7%94%E0%B6%BB%E0%B7%94-%E0%B7%84%E0%B7%8F-%E0%B6%B1%E0%B7%90%E0%B6%9C%E0%B7%99%E0%B6%B1%E0%B7%84%E0%B7%92%E0%B6%BB-%E0%B6%89%E0%B6%A9%E0%B6%B8%E0%B7%8A-%E0%B6%B1%E0%B7%92/

Displaced Community Signatures;

  1. A. Benedict Croos – Mannar

  2. A. Yogarany – Neethivaan Mukaam

  3. A.L.M. Mispahu – Azraf Nagar, Oluvil, Addalaichenai, Ampara

  4. I. Akila – Keerimalai

  5. I. Rishab – Palamunai

  6. I. Saraswathy – Urumpirai

  7. I. Tharmarajiny – Urumpirai

  8. I. Vithusha – Urumpirai

  9. Jayananthini Kunaraththinam – Kilinochchi

  10. K. Diroshan Croos – Mullikulam

  11. K. Kokulan – Ampara

  12. Kamsananthini Kunarathnam – Kilinochchi

  13. Kunarthnam Thiruniraichchelvi – Kilinochchi

  14. M. Mithushayini – Mallakam

  15. M. Vellimayil – Sinthu Centre

  16. M.A.A. Figurado – Mannar

  17. M.B. Hakeem – Ampara

  18. Malika – Kilinochchi

  19. N. Inpanayagam – Urumpirai

  20. N. Janusha – Mallakam

  21. N. Reji Salo – Mullikulam

  22. N. Vimala – Urumpirai

  23. Punchirala Somasiri – Ragamvila, Panama

  24. R. Ajantha – Ampara

  25. R. Anushan – Urumpirai East, Puliyady

  26. R. Dilakshana – Urumpirai East, Puliyady

  27. R. Nilushayini – Ampara

  28. R. Rawha Banu – Chilavathurai

  29. R.F. Ramila Banu – Chilavathurai

  30. S. Bandara – Ragamvila, Panama

  31. S. Gunawathi – Ragamvila, Panama

  32. S. Janany – Ampara

  33. S. Kirushanth – Urumpirai

  34. S. T. Kandeepan – Amban, Kudaththanai

  35. S. Uthayasivam – Chundikulam

  36. S. Vinitha – Urumpirai East, Puliyady

  37. Selvi – 5th Vaajkkal, Kilinochchi

  38. T. Abisha – Urumpirai East, Puliyady

  39. T. Jeevitha – Urumpirai East, Puliyady

  40. T. Jeyachithra – Urumpirai North

  41. T. Kirusonth – Urumpirai

  42. T. Latha – Neethivalaakam

  43. T. Selvarani – Urumpiray

  44. T. Thadshayini – Urumpirai

  45. T. Thushanth – Urumpirai East, Puliyady

  46. Vaasini – Kilinochchi

  47. Vathani – Paravippanjan, Kilinochchi


Latest news

Related news