12.2 C
Monday, April 15, 2024

Vanni loses one seat, Moneragla gets one more

The number of Members of Parliament to be elected from the Vanni District has been reduced by one and the number from the Moneragala district increased by one, according to the latest revision by Elections Commissioner Mahinda Deshapriya.
 The number of MPs to be elected from each district is determined by the commissioner annually in proportion to the number of electors registered in each district.

The number of registered electors in 2011 in the Vanni district comprising Mannar, Vavuniya and Mullaitivi electorates was 221,409, down from 236,449 in 2010 and 270,707 in 2009.

In the Moneragala district comprising Bibile, Moneragala and Wellawaya electorates, in 2011 there were 319,557 registered voters up from 315,452 in 2010 and 308,230 in 2009.

Last year the commissioner announced that the number of members to be elected from the Jaffna district has decreased from ten to six while the number of MPs elected from the districts of Matara, Kurunegala, Badulla and Ratnapura was increased by one each.In 2009, there were 816,005 registered voters on the electoral list of the Jaffna district but this had declined to 484,791 in 2010.
By Chandani Kirinde


Latest news

Related news