17.7 C
Thursday, May 23, 2024

Sri Lanka: Eastern Province Military Governor Removed

[Mr.Austin Fernando – Governor Eastern Province]

New Governors took their oaths before President Maithripala Sirisena today (27) at the Presidential Secretariat. Eastern Province governor Rear Admiral Mohan Wijewickrama has been replaced by  former civil servant a Austin Fernando. He was the  was Defence Secretary when the Prime Minister at the time, Ranil Wickremesinghe, signed the Norwegian-brokered ceasefire agreement (CFA) with the Liberation Tigers of Tamil Eelam (LTTE) in February 2002.

The six new governors are:

Mr.H.M.G.S.Palihakkara – Governor Northern Province

Mr.Austin Fernando – Governor Eastern Province

Mr.B.M.A.R.Perera – Governor North Western Province

Ms.Suranganee Ellawela – Governor Central Province

Mr.P.B.Dissanayake – North Central Province

Mr.M.P.Jayasinghe (Attorney-at-Law) – Uva Province

The following three Governors were sworn in before President Maithripala Sirisena on January 23:

Mr.K.C. Logeshwaran – Governor of the Western Province

Mr.Hemakumara Nanayakkara –  Governor Southern Province

Ms.Amara Piyaseeli Ratnayake –  Governor of North Western Province.u


Latest news

Related news