12.8 C
Thursday, June 13, 2024

SC disregards Speaker’s ruling and again orders notice issued on PSC members and the speaker

SC issues notice to PSC and Speaker The Supreme Courts today  issued notice to the Speaker and 11 members in the Parliamentary Select Committee hearing the Impeachment Motion against Chief Justice Shirani Bandaranayke.

This was after the Supreme Court considered  seven Writ Applications filed in the Court of Appeal in respect of the Impeachment Motion against the Chief Justice and referred to the Supreme Courts for Constitutional interpretation.

The Supreme Court bench consisting of   Nimal Gamini Amaratunga, K.Sripavan and Priyasath Dep ordered that Notice be issued returnable on December 10 and further hearing fixed for December 13 and 14.

SC again orders notice issued on respondents

The Supreme Court today (Nov. 30) stressed that it was aware of the constitutional framework and the powers vested in it through the same and that it acts accordingly.

A SC panel comprising Nimal Gamini Amaratunga, K. Sripavan and Priyasad Dep was taking up five petitions that challenge the parliamentary select committee’s taking up of the impeachment motion against the chief justice.

Three of these petitions were heard by the SC earlier and notice was issued on the respondents.

The respondents nor their lawyers were present at today’s hearing.

The attorney general was ordered to make written submissions within 14 days from November 26.

The petitions will be taken up again on December 13 and 14, and the SC ordered its registrar to issue notice on the respondents.

In parliament, chief opposition whip John Amaratunga asked the speaker to inform the SC about his decision that no outside institution could issue orders to parliament.


Latest news

Related news