8 C
Monday, April 15, 2024

Rajapaksa Supporters Sacked From SLFP Central Committee

Several SLFP MPs who were vocal supporters of former president Mahinda Rajapaksa were sacked from SLFP Central Committee on Saturday.

Letters signed by President Maithripala Sirisena informed them of the decision. Sirisena is also the Chairman of SLFP. MPs Bandula Gunawardena, T.B. Ekanayake, S.M Ranjith, Salinda Dissanayake and Rohitha Abeygunawardena are among those who were removed from SLFP Central Committee.

These MPs were among those who attended the rally in Ratnapura on March 26 in support of former president Mahinda Rajapaksa. SLFP Central Committee had issued a banning order on party members on attending rallies organized by other parties with no prior approval.

More than 20 SLFP MPs and Provincial Council Members took part in this rally. The SLFP later said that they will be penalized for their conduct. However, no action had been taken for two weeks.

Former president Chandrika Kumaratunga recently spoke on those who break party discipline, warning that President Maithripala Sirisena, as SLFP Chairman, will take steps to penalize them in the near future.

Asian Mirror


Latest news

Related news