2.5 C
Wednesday, January 26, 2022

Overriding the parliament another Presidential Task Force created with 46 members in Sri Lanka

President Gotabaya Rajapaksa has appointed another Presidential Task Force with 46 members.

The Task Force has been named as the “Presidential Task Force on Creating a Green Sri Lanka with Sustainable Solutions to Climate Change”.

This is a continuation of Gotabaya Rajapaksa’s presidential rule overriding the parliament in Sri Lanka.

The Task Force, chaired by Basil Rajapaksa, the Special Representative of the President, consists of 46 members including five Cabinet Ministers, a Governor, 14 State Ministers and a female Member of Parliament. But t comes under the president not the parliament.

The other members of the Task Force are;

Ministers R.M.C.B. Ratnayake, Chamal Rajapaksa, Mahinda Amaraweera, Mahindananda Aluthgamage and Ramesh Pathirana, Governor Anuradha Yahampath, State Ministers Duminda Dissanayake, Arundika Fernando, Roshan Ranasinghe, Kanaka Herath, Janaka Wakkumbura, Mohan de Silva, Wimalaweera Dissanayake, Kanchana Wijesekara, S. Viyalanderan, D. B. Herath, Shasheendra Rajapaksa, Dr. Nalaka Godahewa, Seetha Arambepola and Channa Jayasumana, MP Manjula Dissanayake, Dr. M.W.N. Dharmawardena, Jayampathy Molligoda, Jayantha Wickramasinghe, Prof. Sudheera Ranwala, Dr. G.A.S. Premakumara, Specialist Dr. Anuruddha Padeniya, Dr. D.M.J.B. Senanayake, Prof. S. Ananda Kulasuriya, Dr. T. L. Gunaruwan, Prof. P.I. Yapa, Dr. H.M.G.S.B. Hitinayake, Dr. Azeez Mubarak, Dr. Yasantha Mapatuna, Dr. Krish Dharmakeerthi, Sachithra Yapa, Wicky Wickramatunga, Herman Gunaratne, Dhammika Kobbekaduwa, Devaka Wickramasuriya, Jeevaka Atapattu, Dilshan Fernando, Mohamed Anees Junaid, Dilith Jayaweera and Vijith Welikala.

The Cabinet approved the overall policy framework and proposals contained in the Cabinet Memorandum submitted by President Gotabaya Rajapaksa on April 27 to transform Sri Lanka towards a green socio-economic model with sustainable solutions to climate change, says a media release by Presidential Media Unit.

The release further says that:

“The Presidential Task Force has been appointed with the objective of achieving a number of eco-friendly objectives including saving foreign exchange outflows within the country, enabling the country to achieve a high advantage in the emerging global economic pattern and preparing the people for an eco-friendly socio-economic model.

The Task Force has a responsibility to pay special attention to 24 other issues in relation to environmental protection.

Another main responsibility of the Task Force is to prepare a roadmap for the complete transition from chemical farming to organic farming using organic fertilizer products instead of chemical fertilizers, pesticides and herbicides.

The President has directed the Task Force to coordinate with the Task Force on Economic Revival and Poverty Eradication and the Presidential Task Force for “Gama Samaga Pilisandara” (Dialogue with the Village) Rural Development.”


Latest news

Related news