12.8 C
Thursday, June 13, 2024

Disciplinary action against 7 SLMC EPC members

The Sri Lanka Muslim Congress (SLMC) has initiated disciplinary action against seven of its members elected to the Eastern Provincial Council for not carrying out a party decision on the ‘Divi Neguma’ Bill, party sources said yesterday.
The sources said that the letters summoning them for a disciplinary inquiry had been sent to the seven SLMC EPC members.

The Sources said that Party Leader, Minister of Justice Rauff Hakeem, speaking on the phone from USA, had requested the elected members of the SLMC to refrain from voting when the Divineguma Bill was taken up for approval at the Eastern Provincial Council.

A disciplinary Committee of the SLMC comprising Hakeem, Chairman MP Basheer Cegu Dawood and General Secretary MP M. T. Hassen Ali had inquired into the matter but had not announced their decision, SLMC sources said.

The seven elected members of the SLMC included Nazeer A. Ahamed, Mohamed Mansoor, M. I. M. Jameel, A. L. M .Nazeer, T. L. Thavam, M. R. Anver and Hassen Moulavi. They had gone against the Party’s decision and supported the UPFA members to pass the Bill, the sources said.
By Franklin R. Satyapalan


Latest news

Related news