12.9 C
Saturday, June 15, 2024

65 UNP MPs with the Rajapaksha now

With the crossover of Kurunegala District MP, Dayasiri Jayasekara, a total of 65 UNP MPs have left the party and joined the government while Ranil Wickremesinghe remained the Leader. In addition to the large number of MPs who left the UNP, hundreds of Provincial Council members and local body members who strongly oppose the leadership of Ranil Wickremesinghe and are also joining the government.

Jayasekara yesterday stated that with his resignation, 48 UNP Pradeshiya Sabha members are also ready to join the government.

With the resignation of Jayasekara, the Opposition Leader and five members of the Panduwasnuwara Pradeshiya Sabha have decided to join the government.

Accordingly, Opposition Leader of the Panduwasnuwara Pradeshiya Sabha, Samansiri Peiris, as well as Nimal Dayananda, Janaka Tilakasiri, Darshana Sampath Subasinghe, Mano Kumara and Hemantha Pallewatte will extend their support to the government.

Once these members join the ruling party, only two UNP representatives will be left in the Panduwasnuwara Pradeshiya Sabha.

Dayasiri Jayasekera was the Party Organizer for Panduwasnuwara.



Latest news

Related news