13 C
Tuesday, May 21, 2024

Speaker names PSC on propose changes to the constitution: No opposition members

Speaker Chamal Rajapaksa today named a 19 member Parliament Select Committee (PSC) to propose changes to the constitution.The PSC will be led by Minister Nimal Siripala de Silva, and includes Minister G.L Peiris, Maithipala Sirisena, W.D.J Seniviratne, Anura Priyadharshana Yapa, Douglas Devananda, Susil Premjayanth, A.L.M. Athaulla, D.E.W Gunasekera, Rishard Badurdeen, Champika Ranawaka, Wimal Weerawanse, Basil Rajapaksa, Lakshman Seniviratne, Vasudeva Nanayakaara, Muttu Sivalingham, Sudarshini Fernandopulle and Janaka Bandara.

Notable absentees from the list was that of opposition members. The Speaker however said that opposition members of the PSC will be included once the opposition nominates its members.

Earlier the UNP had said it will boycott the PSC untill some of its concerns are adressed by President Mahinda Rajapaksa.

The government had yesterday said that while necessary amendments to the 13th Amendment to the Constitution will be instituted in the future, elections for the 3 provincial councils including the elections for the Northern Provincial Council will be held in September under the present constitutional status.

Cabinet spokesman and the Minister of Mass Media and Information Keheliya Rambukwella had said that the 13th Amendment to the constitution and the Indo Lanka Agreement were imposed on the country without the consent of the people, the government information department reported. (Colombo Gazette)


Latest news

Related news