4.8 C
Wednesday, April 17, 2024

Out of the 23 close relatives of senior politicians, who were in the fray at Saturday’s polls, contested on either UPFA or UNP tickets, 19 were elected.

Lands Development Minister Janaka Bandara Tennakoon’s son Pramitha Bandara Tennakoon secured the highest number of votes from the Matale District while the Minister’s cousin, Thilina Bandara Tennakoon, was elected from the Kandy District.

Deputy Minister Nandimitra Ekanayake’s son Chinthaka was elected from the Matale District. Ekanayake’s brother, former Chief Minister Sarath Ekanayake, clinched the second position from the Kandy District from the Alliance.

While Prime Minister D. M. Jayaratne’s son, Anuradha Lanka Jayaratne, bagged the highest number of preference votes from the UPFA in the Kandy District, Deputy Minister Jayaratne Herath’s son Piumal Herath, Minister Johnston Fernando’s son Johan Fernando, Minister Salinda Dissanayake’s wife Manjula Dissanayake and Minister Anura Priyadharshana Yapa’s brother Chandana Yapa were elected from the Kurunegala District for the Alliance.

Deputy Minister Rohana Dissanayake’s brother Parakrama Dissanayake was elected from the Matale District. Minister Dayashritha Tissera’s nephew, Sumal Tissera, was elected from the Puttalam District. Parliamentarian Eric Weerawardena’s father, Ediriweera Weerawardena, won from the Kandy District.

Minister Mahindananda Aluthgamage’s cousin, Ananda Aluthgamage, lost having contested from the Kandy District, but the Minister’s brother-in-law, Ananda Weerasinghe, was elected from the same district.

Ananda Sarath Kumara, former Provincial Council Member, who did not get nominations for forcing a woman teacher to kneel down, had his nephew Nilantha Wimalaweera, contesting, but he too failed to get elected.

Assassinated Minister D. M. Dassanayake’s widow, Indrani, who contested from the Alliance from the Puttalam District also tasted victory.

From the UNP side, Party Chairman Gamini Jayewickreme Perera’s son, Asanka Perera, got elected from the Kurunegala District, while Parliamentarian Wasantha Aluwihare’s brother, Ranjith Aluwihare, was elected from the Matale District. Minister Navin Dissanayake’s brother, Mayantha Dissanayake, too got elected from the UNP from the Kandy District.

A long standing UNP member of the Central Provincial Council and a strong Ranil loyalist Shanthini Kongahage, was defeated this time. She is the wife of Sri Lanka’s Ambassador to Germany Sarath Kongahage.

While Minister S. B. Dissanayake’s brother Saliya Bandara Dissanayake, who contested from the Nuwara Eliya District, on the UPFA list, experienced defeat, his other brother Jayalath Bandara Dissanayake, who contested on the UNP ticket, emerged victor in the Kandy District.

Former President the Late D. B. Wijetunga’s son-in-law Lucky Jayawardena was elected from the Kandy District on the UNP ticket.
Ranil Dharmasena


Latest news

Related news