15.2 C
Thursday, May 23, 2024

Decision to constitute Natl. Police Commission

The government says it has decided to constitute the National Police commission under the 18th amendment to the constitution. The Parliamentary Council has recommended the names proposed by President Mahinda Rajapaksa to the NPC.

News.lk reported quoting an official of the Parliament that the Parliamentary Council which met yesterday approved the appointment of former ambassador and the President’s Counsel Senaka Walgampaya as chairman of the Commission.

The other members are Ven. Elle Gunawansa Thera, D. Dissanayake, Charmaine Madurasinghe, R. Sivaraman, M.M.M Mowjood and Newton Goonaratna.



Latest news

Related news