21 C
Thursday, June 20, 2024

Break in and search by ‘unknown’ persons of ‘Viluthu’ Office in Colombo condemned

We, the following undersigned citizens, strongly condemn the attack on the Viluthu office in Colombo between the night of the 23rd of January and early hours of Tuesday morning, the 24th January. The office was broken into and searched by unknown persons.

We are especially perturbed that this incident occurred in a high security zone in Colombo.

This is not the first time a civil society group has been attacked and we feel this cowardly act was carried out in order to intimidate the organisation. Viluthu’s work is focused on good governance and empowerment in the north and east of Sri Lanka in supporting the war-affected community.

These kinds of attacks pose a threat to an open society that is founded on democratic values and the rule of law, and upholds freedom of speech and civic activism. It is such a society that we as Sri Lankans should nurture if we are to move towards reconciliation and a lasting peace.

We support and encourage Ms. Shanthi Sachithanandan and the Viluthu team to continue their work on promoting social justice and women’s rights. We hope that incidents such as this one will never happen again in the future. We urge the law enforcement authorities, especially the Inspector General of Police, to act speedily and carry out investigations, and arrest those responsible for this incident.

Ms. Sharmini Boyle
 Ms. Rajani Chandra
 Ms. Visaka Dharmadasa (Association for War Affected Women)
 Ms. Cayathri Divakalala
 Ms. Nimalka Fernando
 Mr. Ruki Fernando (Rights Now Collective for Democracy)
 Mr. Sudarshana Gunawardana
 Mr. Lionel Guruge
 Mr. K. Guruparan (University of Jaffna)
 Ms. Dilrukshi Handunnetti
 Ms. Anberiya Hanifa (Muslim Women’s Research Action Forum)
 Ms. Sharmila Mohamad Hanifa (Jaffna Civil Society for Equality)
 Ms. Sithiravel Ithayarani
 Ms.DushiYanthini Kanagasabapathipillai
 Ms. Chulani Kodikara
 Ms. Mahaluxmi Kurushanthan
 Ms. Jensila Majeed (Women’s Action Network)
 Ms.Ashila Niroshine Mapalagama
 Mr. K.M.N. Mohammed
 Ms. Anita Nesiah
 Mr. Nigel V. Nugawela
 Mr. Jehan Perera (National Peace Council)
 Ms. Sumika Perera
 Mr. Mirak Raheem
 Mr. K. S. Ratnavale (Centre for Human rights and development)
 Ms. Shreen Saroor (Women’s Action Network)
 Dr. Paikiasothy Saravanamuttu
 Dr. Muttukrishna Sarvananthan (Point Pedro Institute of Development)
 Mr. R.M. B Senanayake
 Mr. Tony Seneviratne
 Ms. M. Mangaleswary Shanker
 Dr. Sumathy Sivamohan
 Ms. Priya Thangarajah
 Dr. Selvy Thiruchandran (Women’s Education and Research Centre)
 Ms. Deanne Uyangoda
 Mr. J.C. Weliamuna


Latest news

Related news