Sri Lanka Brief
FeaturesNewsPetitions against Army, Police pile up in Jaffna – Grease Yaka Phenomenon

Petitions against Army, Police pile up in Jaffna – Grease Yaka Phenomenon


S.S. Selvanayagam
The Supreme Court was inundated with another set of 30 rights violation petitions in addition to the earlier 22 petitions in respect of the alleged ensuing reprisals on the residents by military and police at Navanthurai, Jaffna in the aftermath of the ‘Grease Devil’ phenomenon.When these petitions filed through Attorney-at-Law S.M.M. Samsudeen were taken  yesterday (6) up before the Bench comprising Chief Justice Shirani A. Bandaranayake and Justice P.A. Ratnayake, they were fixed for support on October 27 along with the earlier petitions.

Petitioners are A. Sebanathan, R.Pathmanathan, S.Rajarajeswaran, Y.Sivakukumar, R. Tharshan, A. Charles Antony, A.Christhurajah, B.Prince Laxman, S.Danisthan, E. Jeensan, G.W.Jimpeniston, N.Kiritharan, M.Mariyathas, R.Mailvaganam, R.Nishanthan, R.Sugeerthan, A.Peterson, A.Charles, S.Anthony Queen, C. Rajeev, M. Mariyasugunthan, A. Rjanayagam, S.Antony, A.F.Rajanayagam, George Niranjan, Paul Emmanuel, M. Nijanthan, John Peter Rajeev, M.Calliston.

K.S.Ratnavale appeared for 11 Petitioners. B.N.Thamboo for 8 Petitioners. Puvitharan for 6 Petitioners. J.C.Weliamuna, Pulasthi Hewamanne and Pasindu Silva, Sanjeewa Ranaweera appeared for other petitioners. These petitioners cited Defence Minister as well as one of the Respondents.

Earlier 22 petitions filed through Attorney-at-Law Moahan Balendra were taken up before the Supreme Court and fixed for support on October 27. Kanag Iswaran PC with Ms Shantha Abimannasingham PC, M.A.Sumanthiran, Viran Corea, Bavani Fonseka, L.Jayakumar and R.K.Guruparan appeared for the Petitioners Veenas Regi,Wilfred Appa Hildar, Perilo Sumanan, Michael Milton, Alexander Kingsly, Juvaraj Velorajah, Arulappu Quinson, anthonythas Antony Jude, Selvarasa Wigneswaran, Jesuthasan Keethanjan, Murugesu Gurunathan, John Bosco Consentine, George Venijus, Jesuthasan Sujeevan, Kunarasa Rasakumar, Jesuthasan Stanislaus, Balathurai Sahayarasan and Ramachandran Rajendran of all of Navanthurai.

Saliya Peiris with Anjana Rathnasiri appeared for John Peter Jeyaninthan while J.C.Weliamuna for Mariyathas Basilraj.

Back to Top